LOL Goodman Band – Rock and Blues

Reviews – Album

“JUST WANNA SAY…a little bit more”  The de-lux version of the band’s third album.  Released by RIGHT TRACK RECORD.  World wide distribution by UNIVERSAL MUSIC OPERATIONS   3rdalbum-4-page-booklet-deluxe_page_1

If you handed a bunch of chefs the same bag of ingredients and asked them to produce a dish, they would likely all come back with something different, something of their own…and if you were to hand Lol Goodman and crew a set of instruments and a free hand THIS is what you’d get. All the aural ingredients may be familiar, but these veteran players and singers do concoct something of their own within their chosen field of electric and acoustic roots music….

There’s blues in here, there’s country rock, folk, not a little soul, rock’n’roll. The songs are not an excuse to show off their chops..but they happen to ! They are all their own and they stay in your head. At their best moments, they take their time, listen closely to and play off each other and bring in tones and beats that keep the whole brew interesting.

We have the deluxe edition of the album, so fourteen cuts to savour and each really does have its own twists or flavour. For me, it’s hard not to put track one on repeat, it is Don’t Go Fishing and it has everything a song might need – moody guitars, rolling Hammond, steady and deep bass, tight drumming, tons of emphasis, reflective and windswept lyric, catchy chorus, memorable bridge, great vocal backing, twisting guitar solo that hints at Steely Dan. It’s truly as good anything Spooky Tooth or Free put out.

The title track is one of those insistent songs like The Beatles’ I’m Down that you’d love to find on a jukebox, with sharp wavering and slide guitar; Water has a downhome acoustic intro and treading beat ; Live My Life With The Blues has an accompanying video which you can locate on our site. It’s an aching piano-led ballad that will really haunt you, with a hint of Van The Man in its pacing, with expert bass runs and a heartfelt vocal. The Tales of Teddy Black Bear is organ-fuelled fun in and around fluid Southern Rock.

Full Blooded Woman hits a blues groove and a nod to Bo Diddley-spoken delivery, toe-tapping material ; Colours Of My Heart is determined rock-soul, sung straight with wonderful bass figures and dirty guitars. Beer In My Hand uses a slow-blues form to make its point in a ‘One For The Road’ vein. The more I hear it, a hint of a tip of the hat to Peter Green comes to the fore ; LBD concerns the eye-catching apparel of an object of affection and is romantic in its own way. Well, OK – more lustful.

Work To Live employs delay on the guitars and Santana-styled organ ; Searchin’ Man Blues is slow funk with sharp guitar and backbeat snare. Old Black Dog is a slide feature which hits a sprightly bounce. Change My Mood is a Chicken Shack trip with excellent female backing vocals, very enjoyable. Ode To The Guys finishes the set with a moody slide vibe and one of the best vocals on the collection.

Heavyweight music with a spring in its step, on a set of original songs covering many moods.

Pete Sergeant.  Music reviewer, publisher “Just Listen to This” 

http://justlistentothis.co.uk/reviews/lol-goodman-band-just-wanna-saya-little-bit/

 

 

Lol Goodman Band’s third album – JUST WANNA SAY.    Released April 21st 2016

Recorded at STUDIO STUDIO Recording Studio, Whitworth, Rochdale.  Pete Troughton –  Recording, Mixing & Editing Engineer and all things excellent when it comes to recording.Just Wanna Say cover Jpeg

(1)  On 21st April 2016, the Manchester based Lol Goodman Band held the launch of their third and latest CD “Just Wanna Say” at Cottonopolis Bar/Restaurant in Manchester and I was lucky enough to be invited to attend.  What a fantastic experience it was too, since the whole evening was very enjoyable, starting with acoustic support form Kevin Farrell and then the main course of some of the main tracks from new album from The Lol Goodman Band.  The band was founded by guitarist and vocalist Lol and has existed in various formats and with various musicians since 1997 and for the majority of that time James Doc Horrocks has been on second lead guitar or bass from 2010 with Jon Firth on Drums supported by Phil Barrett on guitar, organ and keyboards.  If you liked Tautology, you will love this new album since the new 10 track CD , self penned by Lol, is their best to date.  It is broader in scope, more blues/rock and radio friendly but still maintains their authentic British blues reputation.  This is made clear in the opening track, Don’t Go Fishing, which sets the standard for a great album.  It is obvious that the band have played together for a long time being tight, with quality musicianship.  The tracks are not only blues/rock since Water is a fine acoustic song. The Tales of Teddy Black Bear is an instrumental and my favourite the classic blues orientated track, Live My Life with the Blues, which for me is the album’s stand-out track.  However, there is a lot of competition since the album is varied but does not have a bad track on it.  I suggest you just play the album and do what track 8 recommends; Beer in My Hand and just enjoy.  I Just Wanna Say that this is one of the best blues albums I have heard this year.
Andy Mann, Blues Matter magazine.  Issue 91, Aug/Sep 2016

(2)  Well I just wanna say what a richly rewarding experience it is listening to the band’s new album. Broader in scope and definition than their two previous albums Just Wanna Say hits a number of targets with precisioned accuracy.

If you are coming at the band with a love of authentic Blues then you will find much to sate your appetite, classic British R&B your bag, then you will be pulled in. Where LGB branch out on album number 3 is the radio friendly rock feel and sound to a number of the tracks and the foray in to Southern Rock territory.

The quartet of Goodman, Horrocks, Barrett and Firth have long since paid their dues and that is evident and at the heart of the album, there is an understanding and interplay between the guys and musicianship of the highest quality.

As the album reveals itself early on there are two prime examples of the band’s Blues roots. Water is a stripped down sparse arrangement that creates imagery of back porch countrified Americana. Fingers deftly pick at the strings of an acoustic guitar and wrap around Goodman’s bare boned vocal gently ushering in a sharp amped up lick and loping groove. The lyric depicting the power of nature’s simplest but most essential resource.

Hearts are definitely on the quartet’s sleeves as they immerse themselves in the slow burn Blues of Live My Life With The Blues, the restrained instrumentation of the rhythm section, guitar and keys enveloping Goodman’s impassioned howled vocal and the gospel infused backing vocals. The mood captured perfectly by Barrett’s flourishing Hammond runs and Goodman’s controlled but evocative solo.

Later in proceedings we are taken back in to Blues territory via the quite beautiful arrangement and sounds that permeate through the Latino colours of Beer In My Hand. Barrett weaves lustrous patterns on the Hammond, the rhythm section lay down a stretched groove gradually opening up a vista for two sublime solos courtesy of Barrett and Goodman, the biggest compliment I can give the guys is to say that in me it conjured up comparison with the brilliance of Carlos Santana.

Ode To The Guys closes the album and delicately transports us back to the wide outdoors of the American heartlands, an acoustic guitar caressed by a slide bottle emitting a cacophony of sounds that float out on the breeze carrying Goodman’s pared back exposed vocal.

Spliced between these two gems is the raucous British R&B dominated Little Black Dress. The danger and lure of a siren like woman illustrated by the punchy backline groove and taut Goodman licks.

That radio friendly rock sound is woven throughout the album and first surfaces on the opening track, Don’t Go Fishing, a loping gentle almost AOR feel is created by guitar and keys meshing over a smooth driving rhythm and Goodman’s clear melodic vocal and delightful clean solo.

The title track follows and is sure to put a grin on your face with its infectious hooks and the greatest compliment I can give the guys on this one is to say it immediately took me back to the halcyon days of the Beatles when they were purveyors of the perfect pop song. Clipped guitar lines flow over taut drum and bass lines and Goodman captures the McCartney vocal, simply brilliant.

Colours Of My Heart hits the sweet spot immediately with its infectious looped guitar motif in repeat mode astride rich key strokes, tight rhythms and a bright breathy vocal. Prime time Crowded House is the touchstone for this little gem.

Staying in rock mode but deviating from the Southern Hemisphere to the deep South of America the inspired The Tales Of Teddy Black Bear with its driving backline grooves laying a foundation for Barrett and Goodman to vie for supremacy. Barrett punching out plunging resonating Hammond keys and Goodman peeling off an echoed edgy lead break emitting sounds that made me think he must be playing a Gibson for this, that big full fat tonal sound standing loud and proud. Think Allman Brothers Jessica and you have the coda of this one.

Terrific album that demands repeated plays and adds something new each time you do play it.
 Nigel Foster, Independent Reviewer.  (Contributor to Blues in Britain etc)

 

(3)  Just wanna say that ‘Just Wanna Say…’  the latest album from the Lol Goodman Band is one of the few albums that I would play on air throughout, if there were enough empty hours on our air-waves. As it is I am nominating it as my Vale Radio FAB Folk and Blues album of the month for July 2016. It would have been June, but I have just chosen another album and it would be crass to go back on that decision. Mind you, I did think about it.
I listen to the album right through twice on headphones in one sitting, something I rarely have the application or time to do. I enjoy it immediately, knowing that it is deep enough and strong enough to grow into an essential blues rock classic on my personal favourites rack.
In subdued lighting (a bulb has blown and I can’t be arsed to change it) and my feet up, I identify immediately with ‘Live my Life with the Blues’. (in the words of Leadbelly, ‘You don’t got the blues. The blues got you.’)
With a midnight whisky in my hand I love the pseudo pretentious gospel-ness of ‘Water’. On the other hand a ‘A beer in my hand’ I could almost make my signature tune.  The instrumental ‘The Tales of Teddy Black Bear’ is strong enough to be my track-bed for the new weekly Blues Gig Roundup on my show.  I’ll be talking all over it. Sorry guys!
The rainbow emotions of ‘Colours of my Heart’ all ring true to me and the wishful thinking of ‘Full Blooded Woman’ made me grin. (Is that a true story Lol? I wish!) Then there are the desperate lyrics of the title track ‘I just Wanna Say’. Been there, done that. Lost on appeal.  But all the tracks on the album, every one written by Lol, strike home on every note.
Lol writes from the ‘colours’ of his heart. The band plays from theirs. They are obviously having a bloody good time doing it. Born again teenagers.
The Lol Goodman Band – these bantam cocks can show the spring chickens a thing or two. See them at The Blues Cafe Bar, Harrogate, Friday 8th July.
‘Uncle’ Tony Haynes  (Old enough to know better. Too young inside to care.)  Vale Radio’s FAB Folk and Blues 8-11pm Mondays.
www.vale-radio.com for the rest of the world.  Podcast forevermore at  www.mixcloud.com/tonyhaynes52

 

Cottonopolis still band int

Nick  –  “Wow!  What about that, Dave Calvert.  Are you still here?  You’re definitely awake!”

Dave  –   “What a treat!”  I didn’t expect a world class band when I came out tonight, but goodness me!  Some fantastic playing, real enthusiasm.  I thought perhaps the audience were more here for the food, but I was wrong.  They’re all here at the end.  A superb night, glorious playing,  What do you think?”

Nick  –  “I thought it was absolutely wonderful!  That keyboard playing, the Hammond sound.

Dave  –  “I’ve not heard a Hammond sound properly since last time I played in a blues band many years ago in the 70s and this sounded so authentic.  It was the same bloke playing guitar and that was authentic too.”

Nick  –  “It’s been a grand night out, it really has.  I’m so glad we came out.  Cottonopolis was the place.  Lol Goodman was the band.  Lancashire Bluenotes was the programme.
Nick Dow & Dave Calvert covering the launch of Just Wanna Say at Cottonopolis on Thursday 21st April.
Broadcast on BBC Radio Lancashire on Sunday 24th April

 

(4)  Cottonopolis, just off Piccadilly in Manchester, was the venue for the launch of the Lol Goodman Band’s new album, “Just Wanna Say”.
An interesting mix of the band’s fans and the usual trendy, city centre bar clientele were soon rocking along to the high energy set.  I even caught a “cool” young barman bobbing his head up and down with energetic enthusiasm.
“Just Wanna Say” was recorded locally at Spodden Mill in Whitworth.
The Lol Goodman Band play their own version of the blues, as filtered through 1970s rock bands such as Little Feat, the Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Bad Company and Dr. Feelgood, influenced by Muddy Waters.
The album is the band’s third following on from “Old Dogs ‘n’ Licks” and “Tautology” and is, in my opinion, their most accomplished.
Lol’s songs are consistently engaging and are enhanced by his mastery of all forms of blues guitar playing.  His guitar playing complements his songs.
Rochdale’s Phil Barrett adds perfectly judged guitar, piano and organ.
There is one of the tightest rhythm sections you will ever hear, in the shape of James “Doc” Horrocks on bass and Jon Firth on drums, underpinning and driving the sound.
The album kicks off with Don’t Go Fishing which immediately brings to mind Little Feat & the Allman Brothers.
Just Wanna Say is a rockier number and contrasts well with the next track, Water, which is acoustic blues with some tasty electric guitar flourishes.
Live My Life with the Blues is a piano based song that takes the listener into a smoke filled bar in 1940s Chicago.
The Tales of Teddy Black Bear is and Allman Brothers influenced instrumental.
Full Bloodied Woman sounds like a Muddy Waters song with a touch of Captain Beefheart vocals and a Hammond organ break.
Colours of My Heart continue the theme with Hammond organ to the fore.
Beer in My Hand is a slow electric blues based on a catchy riff with Hammond organ swirling away underneath.
LBD ups the tempo as a fast, rockier song with a nod to Dr. Feelgood.
Ode to the Guys closes the album as Lol solos, treating us to his bottleneck playing.
Steve Cooke, All Across the Arts.  Review published in Rochdale Observer, Middleton Guardian. Heywood Advertiser

(5)  On this excellent third CD, the opener has subtle shades of the Eagles and maybe Little Feat, though with a blues guitar, whilst “I Just Wanna Say” is a piece of (almost) vintage rock and roll, with a vocal akin to John Lennon covering Little Richard.
“Water” is a blues/rock number, though starting off almost as a work song, leading into “Live my Life with the Blues” a bluesy/country flavoured rock balled.  “The Tales of Teddy Black Bear” is an inventive Allman Brothers styled instrumental and leads into the second half of the CD where the blues influences become more overt, as on the slow, tough “Full Bloodied Woman”.  “LBD” is a fine rocking blues with hints of the Essex Delta sound – praise too for the excellent work throughout of the rhythm section, bassist James Doc Horrocks and Jon Firth on drums, really outstanding.  This fine and extremely entertaining set closes out with the acoustic “Ode to the Guys”, with some excellent bottleneck guitar work.
Norman Darwen.  Blues in Britain,  Issue 175 July 2016         

 

(6)   They say old rockers never die, they just shake, rattle and roll but for their third album Lol and his three bandmates have opted instead to produce a retro-sounding collection of songs that must hark back to their youth.
Kicking off “Just Wanna Say” is “Don’t Go Fishing”, a commercial sounding AOR number that could easily have been a Climax Blues band track from the 70s.  Next up is the title track, a raw rocker that, despite some nice guitar breaks, repeats the title so often that you wish they would just get on with it.  Fortunately, things quickly improve thereafter.r2
Much classier is the slower “Live My Life With the Blues” aided by Goodman’s expressive vocals and guitar plus the subtle Hammond of Phil Barrett. 
Oddly for such an album, upbeat instrumental “The Tales of Teddy Black Bear” is a surprise highlight, while the mock Muddy style blues and humour of “Full Bloodied Woman” should raise a smile with most listeners.  The understated gospel of the stripped down “Water” mines a rich seam that had this listener wanting more.
They may not be saying anything particularly new but what they’re saying is well worth listening to  –  repeatedly.
Morgan Hogarth.  R2 (Rock n Reel) magazine.  Issue 59  Sept/Oct 2016      (“Live My Life With The Blues” included on Un-Herd… cover-mount CD) 

New CD – Just Wanna Say – phenominal cd – Can’t chose one track so here have a few xxx Lol Goodman Band.   Sam Hardy, presenter 6 Towns Radio, Stoke on Trent

Love the album, a great piece of work. Would you be interested in me nominating the album to the IBBA as a Presenters Pick for the month of May?  Joe Singleton, presenter & member of the IBBA

Hi Guys, listening to your nu album now and it is superb !!!! and yes I will be playin’ on my show Talent like this cannot be ignored ( bring on British Blues ) Tony Fitton ( Blues In The Nite )http://www.phoenixfm.co.uk/shows_blues_in_the_nite

 

 

                                                TAUTOLOGY

Tautology CD cover 1

the second album by The Lol Goodman Band.  Recorded at STUDIO STUDIO Recording Studios, Whitworth, Rochdale with sound engineer Pete Troughton.
Guesting on the recording were;
Rod Mayall, 

 Keyboards on tracks 1, 3, 6, 9, 10 & 11
Dave Turnbull, Sax on tracks 2, 10 & 12
Phil Barrett, Keyboards on track 2

 

Review for LOL GOODMAN BAND – CD – ‘Tautology’ – 2014 http://www.lolgoodmanband.com/ Self release

The Lol Goodman Band are a hard working and enthusiastic band from the North West, who enjoy their music. ‘Tautology’ is their second album and shows how the guys have progressed in a short time.
On guitar and vocals is Lol Goodman, with James Horrocks on bass and John Frith on drums. Guesting on the album were Rod Mayall and Phil Barrett on keys and Dave Turnbull on sax. All the tracks on the album are self penned.
The first track on the album ‘Work To Live’, is a standard rock blues with good guitar work. Following, an up tempo number with a funky feel, ‘Start The Whispers’, with some very nice keys and sax input. ‘Last Deed Of A Dying Man’ has shades of 70’s rock with good drums and keys. A change with a slow acoustic take, ‘Highway’, with some great lyrics and vocals. Moving onto a rockin’ track ‘Outta Sight Outta Mind’, with a great drum beat, Rory Gallagher springs to mind.  A bit of rolling Southern Rock with ‘Speak To Me Baby’, a nice take. Interesting slide guitar on ‘Dust Myself Down’ which is a bit funky. More slide on the intro’ to the rockin’ blues ‘Old Black Dog’ which has a bit more of an ‘earthy’ feel. ‘Don’t Forget’ gives us a slow blues rock number with plenty of fuzz’. Some lovely sax playing on the rockin’ rhythm and blues number ‘Here Comes The Cougars’. The penultimate track ‘Shit Happens’ is a bit of a pop rock anthem with acoustic guitar and keys. The final track ‘Off The Floor’ is an up tempo, foot tapper, with slide and acoustic guitar. A rhythmic number with good drum sound.
A good honest album which shows the progression the band have made. A mix of blues/rock and pop culture, we’ll see how the work progresses on album number three!

Rosy Greer – Lancashire Blues Archive http://www.facebook.com/lancsbluesarchive

 

 

 

“It isn’t that long ago since Blues Matters reviewed Lol Goodman’s debut album, Old Dogs ‘n’ Licks, and so it’s a welcome treat to receive album number two. Meaningfully co-titled under the definition (and sub-heading) of “the use of words which merely repeat something already stated.” it is more of the same tightly-honed homeland blues. With the exception of one track, the album is penned by Goodman and he shows an appropriate insight into the use of words and music that suit the blues genre. This album is a step up, or across, from the debut, and illustrates the band’s rapidly rising tenure particularly on the live circuit; they have come out of the back room in the pub and are now on the festival route.

The lyrical storytelling of the blues author offers little new yet it is something to which we all return so tracks like Last Deed Of A Dying Man and Dust Myself Down can still enlighten and offer enjoyment aplenty. The former mixes distressed vocals with accentuated guitar and soothing keys, the latter a funky rhythm that has archetypal blues resilience. Goodman tries his hand at the poignant and the proud too, and Highway will have lighters and candles in the air at their live shows, maybe. Then there is the Stonesy Here Comes The Cougars and the recognition that amongst the pain and suffering, much of our release from such burdens comes in the form of humour. All in all, a nice step forward and we can confidently look forward to album number three.”
Blues Matters Magazine, June 2014

 

Three piece outfit The Lol Goodman Band are based in the North west of England and are rapidly acquiring a strong following for their late 60s/early 70s styled blues/rock.  These guys should appeal to anyone who enjoys the music of Led Zeppelin, Free and others around back then – do check out their latest, all original CD,  “Tautology”
Norman Darwen’s Blues News from England,  Blues News, Finland

 

“Everything is right about that, isn’t it?  The band sounds like they’ve obviously worked very, very hard at the arrangements, they can all play their instruments extremely well.  Yes, you can think to yourselves there’s a bit of that in there and there’s a bit of something else in there, but who cares when they can come out with a sound like that.
They fire my rockets a bit, I think they’re alright.  What I like is the balance within the band, and the way that drummer ended then (Work to Live) was unique with that nice drum roll at the end.  So, they know what they’re doing.
Seriously good, that’s The Lol Goodman Band and I am very, very impressed with that, I can stand a lot of it, in fact I’m going to get them in (the studio) and we can have a bit of a chat on air
Why haven’t I heard of this lot before because, honestly, this lot, this fine body of men who are superb musicians?  Honestly, this is the best thing I’ve heard for absolutely ages.  God bless ‘em & thank you very much indeed for sending it (Tautology) through to me.”
Nick Dow, Lancashire Bluenotes, BBC Radio Lancashire.  Broadcast 9.00pm on Sunday 25th May 2014 

 

‘A beautiful track here called “Highway”……..
………That was a delicious piece of music there, I very much enjoyed that.  That was The Lol Goodman Band and “Highway” taken from TAUTOLOGY which is their current offering.’
Jason Elliott.  Blues and Soul Show.  Phoenix FM.  Broadcast July 12th 2014

 

The Lol Goodman Band – Tautology
I am always pleased when a band asks me to review their album. Pleased because I am exposed to such a broad church of music that sits under the contemporary Blues umbrella. The vast majority of it is of high quality and I can safely say that is very much the case with Lol and Co’s second full album.
The band is a trio of Goodman on vocals and guitars, James Horrocks on Bass and Jon Firth on Drums. Tenor Sax is supplied by Dave Turnbull and the sound is further fleshed out courtesy of Rod Mayall and Phil Barrett on the keys. Listen to that vocal and it puts me in mind of Neil Finn, deeply melodic and of great pitch.
Nice play on the word Tautology for the title because the one thing this is album is not is repetitive, it is broad in scope, and yes there is some Blues but also pop sensibility and beautiful balladry. Whilst the album is strong throughout for this listener it grows and develops in strength and depth, evidence of excellent song selection.
It kicks off brightly enough on the pacey Work to Live with a tight clipped Goodman solo, deep drum fills and a rasped vocal about the rigours of modern life.
Track three sees the band fully into their stride delivering the first standout track, the finely crafted and beautifully played Last Deed of a Dying Man. Deep meaningful lyrics spill from Goodman’s mouth and the mood is matched with empathic guitar runs and Mayall slots in by his side with urgent key strokes.
Highway follows suit in its sheer quality, the Highway being used as a metaphor for the long hard journey of life today. Truly deft acoustic guitar from Goodman nurtures his own pained vocal narrative and as the tune sweeps along, drum and bass runs add texture and mood. The solo is quite majestic as Goodman picks out and gives each note space to breathe.
Outta Sight Outta Mind picks the pace up and also the baton for the vibe of classic British R&B that screams The Faces at the their very best. The riff spits and snarls throughout, the rhythm section pound out the grooves and Lol pours out a rasping vocal demanding to be heard. That mesmeric riff is only interrupted by Goodman’s searing solo.
Dust Myself Down in at Track 7 bursts open on another slice of scorching Goodman slide, bruised and battered as rejected love is contemplated. The highpoint of the song is where Goodman somehow melds the slide riff into a tight high end solo and grinds it out with authority.
You have got to love Old Black Dog, this one could become your best friend! Deep down slide riven riffs are punched out, driven on by an infectious rhythm section groove. Goodman’s gravelled vocal adds intensity.
Don’t Forget is an apt title as once heard it will not be forgotten, this is an epic tune in length and song structure clocking in at around the nine minute mark. Gliding in effortlessly on a Goodman phased lead run and stretched drum rolls that underpin the main man’s vocal delivery. A quality ballad devoid of syrup but full of honeyed sounds and no little soul. Goodman’s sustained lead run percolates throughout the whole piece easing front and centre to dazzle and then easing to the back to hold the melody. The mood of hurt and pain is enhanced by another clawing doleful solo from Lol, full of fluent note runs and passion.
Here Comes the Cougars is all sass, Sax and a tale of bad boys and bad bad women, a chance for the band to rip it up and rock out a little.
Shit Happens is a real gem, the title hinting at a bar room brawl or life struggle but it develops in to a very touching melodic ballad built on acoustic and electric guitars, soft sympathetic keys sat beside Goodman’s soft voice over. Goodman’s fluid solo is so mournful and moody it says as much if not more than the lyrics. No doubt, like a number of tunes on the album, destined to become a set list staple.
Time for one last whig out on the joyous stomp that is Off the Floor to bring this hugely impressive album to a close.
Tautology deserves to take the Lol Goodman Band to the next level. I only hope the ‘Blues Band’ label does not hold these guys back; their music should be enjoyed by fans of a number of musical genres.
Nigel Foster,  Independent Blues Reviewer,  Surrey, England.

 

 

BiB Review

Ian McHugh,  Blues in Britain, Issue 148, April 2014
As a postscript to his review, Ian McHugh emailed this to the band;
“I do always try to make the reviews honest, and most of all to look for the positive.  The hardest ones are like yours, where it’s nearly right.  There’s a lot to be proud of on the record and I’m glad you didn’t see it as a condemnation.  It certainly has a higher success rate than I seem to achieve on record!  Looking forward to the next one!   Ian”

 

If a concept, in recent decades, is in danger of clotting into a cliché then it’s the power trio following the likes of CREAM and their successors.  Even singer/guitarist Lol Goodman and his colleagues from Manchester are attributable to “Tautology” the second  album with the current line-up.  The format is not new but the classic blues/rock still makes for fun.
Highlights for me:  Songs such as “Work to Live”,  “Here Come the Cougars” (with beautiful rolling piano and a lecherous saxophone to complement the band’s sound) and “Off the Floor”
Nathan Norgell,  Wasser-Prawda Magazine, 25th May 2014,  Germany.
(For the actual review, in German, go to
http://wasser-prawda.de/component/zoo/item/lol-goodman-band-tautology)

 

 

BLUES IN BRITAIN – SEPTEMBER 2013

Lol Goodman Band: Old Dogs ‘n’ Licks
Self Release
lolgoodmanband.com
Imagine Jimi Hendrix playing Magic Sam and you’ve got some idea of the sound of ‘Searchin’ Man Blues’, track three on this CD. The Lol Goodman Band consists of leader Lol on vocals and guitar his long-time musical partner James Horrocks on bass and experienced drummer Jon Firth. These guys are veterans of the north-west’s blues-rock scene – the band has been around for a couple of decades and in its present line-up for the last five years or so. This album has the classic sound of the late 60s and early 70s – ‘Sailing The Skies’ is a great example. and elsewhere there are echoes of Cream, Free, Led Zeppelin, and The Rolling Stones (maybe a hint of Little Feat too in ‘Ordinary Guy’) and there are some numbers such as ‘Once In A Lifetime’, which isn’t a blues but certainly sounds early 70s. These days the two have become d1fficult to disentangle sometimes and the lyrics to ‘6 String Hero’ will resonate with many readers I suspect. The album title tells you all you need to know maybe – except that these old dogs do those licks extremely well indeed.
Norman Darwen

 

 

Lol Goodman Band

“Old Dogs ‘n’ Licks” – Lol Goodman Band

The Lol Goodman Band is a trio of well established musicians consisting of Lol Goodman on Lead Guitar & Vocals, James Horrocks, Bass Guitar and Jon Firth on Drums.
The album, written by Lol Goodman and produced by The Lol Goodman Band, is a symbiotic mixture of the Blues with a mellow blend of West Coast phrasing on Lol’s Claptonesque guitar style.  The album’s passionate vocals lifted by James Horrocks’ driving Bass and powered by the rock steady drumming of Jon Firth is the cruise CD for the Pacific Highway; hood down, volume up.
The track “Once in a Lifetime” has the enviable quality of being instantly memorable with a hook that many seek and only a few find.  Not only is it potential chart material, it is a soundtrack waiting for film footage.

Danny Hardman (Author, Music Historian, Founder – The Pete Cowap Music Festival) 

 

A hard working, well seasoned Blues/Rock band from Manchester, The Lol Goodman Band is Lol Goodman on guitar & vocals, James Horrocks on bass guitar and Jon Firth on drums.  The band have put together a CD of self penned work by Lol.
The first track on the album, “You Only Use Me” is a standard Blues/Rock number with some good guitar work from Lol.
This leads on to the next track, “Heart, Soul, Love” which has a rockin’ Blues feel with the use of a fuzz box.
The next track, “Searchin’ Man Blues” is a good earthy blues number and some great drum work from Jon.
Following this is a well put together semi acoustic number, “Once in a Lifetime” with a nice electric guitar solo from Lol.
“Badman Blues” is a great rockin’ Blues number with a guitar solo reminiscent of the 60s.
“Isn’t She Sweet”, the next track on the album, has a bit of a country blues feel but, with the use of a fuzz box, also has a hint of rock.
Slowing down the pace, “Nothing Changes” is a nicely worked slow number, before we hot it up again for “6 String Heroes” an up tempo well put together Rock/Blues track.
For a bit more funky feel, “Ordinary Guy” with a soul influence hits that spot.  Some great bass riffs from James and drum rhythms from Jon.
Then it’s back to rock and “Sailed the Skies” does just that.  Great guitar on this track from Lol.
A bit of up-tempo rocky R&B on “Change My Mood” to get those feet moving and the last track on the album, “People High” gives a nice bit of classic rock.
These guys have worked hard on the album, but maybe a bit more “fine tuning” for the next one with some “added extras” would be good.  All in all a good effort and it’s nice to know bands are still out there “Keeping Live Music Alive”, so well done The Lol Goodman Band.

Rosy Greer (Lancashire Blues Archive) 
For the original review published on Blues in the North West, click on the link below
http://www.bluesinthenorthwest.com/index.php/2013/07/19/review-the-lol-goodman-band-old-dogs-n-licks/

 

Very good, memorable songs and good recordings, too.

Lucas Campbell (Radio Presenter – Music Promoter)

 

Fans of the late 60s/early 70s sound of the UK scene should try to take a listen to “Old Dogs ‘n’ Licks”, the self-produced and self promoted CD by The Lol Goodman Band (www.lolgoodmanband.com).  This three piece outfit is based in the North West of England and excell at the gritty sound of classic British blues/rock in the vein of Led Zeppelin, Free, Cream and others.

Norman Darwen’s Blues News from England.  Blues News Magazine, Finland

 

LOL GOODMAN BAND

Old Dogs ‘n’ Licks (Independent)
On the go for a decade and half, and more in other guises, Lol Goodman’s band are a heavy touring, hard playing blues outfit from the north-west of England; so the album’s title fits the bill perfectly. Flavoured around the styles of Free and Led Zeppelin, this is gruff and exciting blues rock. Seachin’ Man Blues and Badman Blues stand out as well-toned blues with the first being austere and the latter assertive. The iconic roots of the Sixties blues and Seventies rock are best exhibited in 6 String Hero and evidence of what their live show must be like. There a couple of tracks that seem to be there to point at variety, Once In A Lifetime and Isn’t She Sweet, plus the semi-psychedelic Sailed The Skies, but on the whole it is a rocking blues set that serves as a teaser to see them live.

Gareth Hayes.
BLUES MATTERS magazine (November 29th 2013)